October 20, 2006

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

By C.S. Lewis
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Noelle

The first book written in the 7 book series of the Chronicles of Narnia. The siblings Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy magically enter the land of Narnia through a wardrobe. They find a snowbound land where it is always winter and never Christmas, populated by fabulous creatures like fauns, dryads and Talking Animals. The evil queen Jadis rules cruelly over the country. The four children find out that they are meant to fulfill a prophecy that will break the queen's rule with the help of the lion god, Aslan. Published in the 1950's, this story is still as fresh and wonderful as it was when it first came out, and many of today's fantasies should thank C.S. Lewis for inspiration. If you like magic, mythical animals, battles of good versus evil, and good storytelling, you will love this book and the entire series. Check out the Chronicles of Narnia website for more information and inspiration.

No comments: